Defining Success

May 30th 2017

success.PNG

We all need to learn that success is subjective.

What is success? How do we gauge success? In a business sense, success is growth, engagement, profits, etc. But what is success in the human sense? Success is subjective, that’s what it is.

Success is no one thing. It is different things to different people. To me success is experiencing as much of life as possible by traveling, going to concerts, trying new things and making new friends. However, to someone else success could be earning large sums of money or having a huge family or climbing to the peak of a huge mountain. Success is subjective and that is why we can’t judge ourselves or other people under one definition of success. We also can’t be hard on ourselves when someone else succeeds at a personal goal and we don’t.

I used to find myself getting very disappointed in my own success when I saw other people reaching their goals and dreams while I was taking longer to reach mine. I thought to myself that I must be a failure because life was presenting opportunities to succeed to other people and not me. I would look on social media and see people doing all these amazing things and thought that I must be slacking. But then I realized something…I didn’t want to be doing what those people were doing. I didn’t want to succeed at the things they were succeeding at because those weren’t my dreams. Our lives are independent and equally as complex and important to one another but we all want something unique out of them.

The thing I needed to learn was that someone else’s success isn’t my failure. We all just want different things out of life. I also realized that people could be looking at my life and feel discouraged by my success. I never even thought that people outside me could be feeling equally as slackerish as I was by viewing my successes! That’s because I never really took the time to admire my own accomplishments. I had been so wrapped up in seeing what everyone else was doing that I lost sight of what I was doing right and the strides I was making.

My dreams are going to take a while and it makes me feel incredibly impatient but I know that one day I will be successful on my own terms and it will be worth it and no amount of people who succeed before me are going to change how my success feels.

Reach towards your dreams and remember…it’s a marathon, not a sprint~

Jess

Leave a Reply

