Spring Cleaning for the Soul

February 18th 2017

DSC_0460.JPG

Every year I do spring cleaning for my soul.

As someone would spring clean their home, I spring clean my life. I take the time to sort through different aspects of my life (emotions, situations, people, habits, etc.),and clear out those that are not serving me in order to make room for new and exciting things.

I also use this time to clear the cobwebs off of things that I have neglected in my life and try to see if they are worth keeping or moving on from. Very often, I feel like some of the most important things have slipped through the cracks from the previous year and rediscovering them helps me look at them with new eyes.

On a larger scale, spring cleaning for the soul allows you to take a step back and view your life as a series of different unique objects. By separating people from emotions and emotions from situations, it is easier to sort out what exactly is and is not serving you. It also encourages you to put everything you have out where you can see it. In order to effectively cleanse your soul, you must take the time to acknowledge those aspects you chose to hide away in some mental junk drawer and decide if those things that you’ve hidden from yourself are worth the space you let them occupy.

Often, they aren’t. I have found that if I haven’t thought about a place or a person or a situation in some time and doing so evokes emotions of discomfort or anxiety, it is probably time I part with them. This is super hard for me because I am extremely sentimental and knowing when it is time to kick things to the curb is really hard for me.

However, by clearing out that negatively used space, you are creating space to bring in new positive experiences.

So roll up your sleeves and get cleaning,

Jess

Leave a Reply

